SEJ Archives

An Internet Original — The Success Express Journals (Archives)

SEJ – Volume 5, Issue 1 – Apr 1, 1996

leave a comment »

SUCCESS EXPRESS JOURNAL
Volume 5, Issue 1 – Apr 1 – 1996

TABLE OF CONTENTS:

– LOL in the morning
– Tips from the Top – TIP #15 – Expectation Vs Possibility
– Book Review – The Idea Guide
– SEJ’s WORLD – with Eric Edmeades: Do It
– The Cybergym Exercise of the Week
– Reader’s Feedback
– This Week’s Quote Contest
– Copyright © and Trademark ™ Information
________________________________________

LOL, in the morning:

This week’s Humour Topic: 12 Questions that make you go “Hmmmm…”
________________________________________

Why do you need a driver’s license to buy liquor when you can’t drink and drive?
________________________________________

Why are there interstate highways in Hawaii?
________________________________________

Why are there flotation devices under plane seats instead of parachutes?
________________________________________

Have you ever imagined a world with no hypothetical situations?
________________________________________

How does the guy who drives the snowplow get to work in the mornings?
________________________________________

If a cow laughed, would milk come out her nose?
________________________________________

If nothing ever sticks to TEFLON, how do they make TEFLON stick to the pan?
________________________________________

If you tied buttered toast to the back of a cat and dropped it from a height, what would happen?
________________________________________

If you are in a vehicle going the speed of light, what happens when you turn on the headlights?
________________________________________

Why do North Americans put Braile dots on the keypad of the drive-up bank machines?
________________________________________

Why is it that when you transport something by car, it’s called a shipment, but when you transport something by ship, it’s called cargo?
________________________________________

You know that little indestructible black box that is used on planes, why can’t you make the whole plane out of the same substance?
________________________________________

TIPS FROM THE TOP! With Wayne R. Morrison of Pinnacle Achievements

TIP #15, Expectation vs. Possibility

How many times have you set a goal in life, and then found that the pressure to achieve the goals was so intense it actually pulled the motivation away from you to achieve the goal? This is a common challenge that most people encounter determining a path for their future. Here’s a quick tip to take the pressure off of yourself: are you setting this goal with an EXPECTATION of getting it, or are you setting the goals as a POSSIBILITY? This may sound a bit strange, but if you have expectations of accomplishing the goal, you may actually be sabotaging your success.

I first experienced this in my days as a salesperson. I set a goal to sell a certain number of units each month and I would start off feeling great with plenty of enthusiasm. Then, as the days passed by, if I was selling at or above quota I felt great, but if I was behind schedule, I would experience pressure and then that pressure would actually hamper my effectiveness. Has this ever happened to you?

I realized that my happiness was at the effect of my performance. This created several negative results. The first of which was that my identity had been tied to my performance in my career. The further behind I would get from my goal, the more pressure I experienced in life.

Through a bit of serendipity, a friend of mine called to share a lesson he had received from a program in communications that he was taking. Its distinction was the difference between Expectation vs. Possibility. It’s a bit out there, but then again, I’m a bit esoteric. Enjoy.

We create an expectation for something to occur, and we sometimes create a time related pressure that can intensify based upon the progress of the goal. This can be most easily identified in relationships. Have you ever created an expectation of someone in a relationship? The more a person fails to fulfill your expectations, the more they may feel tension and pressure in the relationship itself.

However, if we set a goal simply as a possibility for the future, then we can eliminate the inherent pressure. Because it is a possibility, then what we are saying is there are other options acceptable that we may not have been thought of and whatever happens is fine. If this doesn’t agree with you, then read the Tips from the Top article entitled: Serendipity.

Does this mean you should never create expectations in your life? No. In fact, as a proponent of the Pygmalion effect (see past issue entitled “Pygmalion”), I make expectations in my life all the time. I do, however, feel that if your expectations are creating pressures not sought after in life, then you may instead choose to produce now.

Think about it, how great would it be, in your life, if you are open to creating the possibility of a wonderful fulfilling relationship? What about the possibility of achieving your sales goal? What about the possibility of weighing the perfect weight? What about the possibility of going on that vacation you have always dreamed of?

Imagine that if you explore the wonders of possibilities in your life, and manifest those possibilities in your future, you will have a most outrageous life to enjoy.

SO until then, take care, dare, dream and make each day an epic adventure.

To Your Success,
Wayne R. Morrison DCH(c)
Pinnacle Achievements
________________________________________

Book REVIEW – The IDEA GUIDE – David Ceolin
– Reviewed by Eric Edmeades

I first started SEJ and then got involved with Kaizen Technologies Inc. We now have a clear business plan. We had solid goals, huge dreams and fantastic positions. We thought we were clear about the outcomes and the methods we would use to reach those outcomes, until we read the IDEA GUIDE.

The Idea Guide is a work book which takes you through the step by step process of developing an idea or business concept. Whether you are working on something new, or refining a current project, this book is a valuable tool. Many of these people have fantastic ideas and do not spend the few minutes it would take for the development of those ideas. What would happen if you then took action on even one or two of the great ideas you have had over the years?

Rating (business): 4/5
________________________________________

SEJ’s WORLD, with Eric Edmeades

As we have discussed in the book review this week, people often have great ideas, but do not receive the reward for those great ideas. In fact, people are generally not rewarded for TAKING ACTION on ideas.

A few years ago there was an earthquake in Los Angeles…. I decided that I should start marketing “Earthquake Safety Packs” in Vancouver, BC. You see, for years people have been predicting an Earthquake in Vancouver, which, combined with the recent news coverage on the LA quake meant a prime market. So I traveled to LA to survey the damage (Thanks again for the hospitality Wayne!).

An example from my own life happened during a trip to South Africa. I realized that there was almost no food delivery, not even pizza companies! So I conceived an idea which would call for the creation of ‘Dial a Meal’. The concept was that people could call and order meals from a number of menus from different restaurants. This would give them a wide selection of food, without leaving the house. Once again, everyone I spoke to thought the idea was a great money-maker, so I returned to Canada and got ‘caught up’. A few years later a young person was awarded the Entrepreneur of the Year Award for creating one of the fastest growing companies in South Africa. OOPS.

In mid 1995 I came up with an idea for a Success Journal that could be distributed via email. We could not even charge the customers, and that way the subscription rate would grow at amazing speed as people passed copies on to friends and associates.

If you read this, and think about what is important to you about your work… Imagine what you could learn by doing this week’s exercise.

Seize the moment, and seize the day, to infinity and beyond!!
Eric Edmeades
________________________________________

Letter to Subscribers

Dear Achiever,

This week we have included a past CYBERGYM exercise. It is one of the most powerful of the exercises we have run thus far, and resulted in 23% of subscribers giving positive feedback.

The reason we have included this exercise is that we received this letter:

1. Recently I found myself writing my grandfather’s eulogy. It made me realize how valuable he was to me, and it made me wish that I had told him all these things once more before he was gone. Here it is:

TO GRANDAD

Granddad was a great granddad as Granddads go. He never had a cross tone with me and always had time to teach me something. He was always eager to teach me about nature, or health, or even sales.

My earliest memories of him were crawling about his store and spending way too much time in the tailor shop. I found it fascinating. After that there would be making nature trails and collecting Mark Trail comics (I never understood a comic that wasn’t funny but I think I have 2529 editions).

I also remember listening to him play the piano and organ while I traced pictures from encyclopedias and learned about the Great White Owl. The old house in Queenswood holds many dear memories for me: learning to throw darts, learning to use Granddad’s “state of the art” crank-handle adding machine that was so modern that debits were in red ink!

Finally, he taught me my true passion today: GOLF. My earliest memories are caddying for him. My fee was that I got to “drive one” from each tee (quite a deal for both of us). I think one of this proudest days and one of my fondest memories was when I drove a ball off the ninth hole at the Upland’s Golf course in Victoria and managed to hit Granddad’s competitor right in the BUTT!!! As the injured combatant limped through the last 9 holes all he heard was how you never walk ahead of another golfer taking a shot. I don’t know if there was a bitter rivalry between them, but I do know that I got an extra large sundae and my own bottle of pop that day.

So to sum it all up Granddad taught me some business, some appreciation for nature, that doctors aren’t always right (but to respect them), he taught me to play a little and how to golf a lot, but mostly he taught me how to be a great Granddad!!!

I love you Granddad and I’ll miss you.

Please do this exercise, and please do it now. The purpose behind these exercises is to create small changes and improvements in our lives each week and this week’s exercise is one of the most gratifying and rewarding in the whole CYBERGYM.

Warm Regards,
Our SEJ team.

________________________________________

The CYBERGYM™ Exercise of the Week
________________________________________

This week is about recognition. There are two parts to the exercise this week. One exercise for only you, and the other to share.

First, in your journal make a list of the 2 people which have influenced you the last few weeks, months or years. This could be a teacher, author, child, friend boss or anyone… Now pick one of them and write a letter expressing your thanks to them. Please make sure that you explain clearly you are thanking them. Please commit to this, and make it happen. I am sure once you have done the first one, you will gladly write the second letter as well. Be careful though, you may form a habit of thanking the influential people in your life. They will appreciate it greatly, and so will you.

The second is quite different. Pick one of your major goals, preferably one you have not YET attained. Now create a list of all the people who have helped you to believe in this goal. Yes, I know that sounds a bit awkward – and it is. The point is to attack this from the frame of mind of already having achieved the goal, and then determining the list. Once this list is completed, write the first draft of a sincere ‘thanks’ letter to all of these people, that they will get when the goal is actualized. Remember to keep the list up to date as your life moves on each day. Think what a positive effect this exercise will have on your outlook. What would happen if each day you were constantly trying to find more people to thank for your success? Wow!!

I did this same exercise when I set the goal for the accumulation of my first million dollars. I started with a long list that included my parents, grandparents, my partner, my largest customer, investment advisor, my 3rd grade teacher and several others. Then, as my life progressed, and I got closer and closer to my goal, I added more people to the list. About a year ago I added Sir John Templeton to the list, and I am about to add Stephen R Covey to the list as well. The most gratifying part of this was when I went back to Halifax, Nova Scotia, about 2 years ago. Although still shy of my goal, I looked up my third grade teacher and told him of my long term goal, and the powerful impact he has had in my life. We spoke for about 30 minutes, and I am sure it had a great effect on him; I know it did for me.

“DO THIS EXERCISE BECAUSE IT IS URGENT AND IMPORTANT!”

________________________________________
READER’S FEEDBACK
________________________________________

Steve from Louisiana is looking for an essay written by Napoleon Hill, so he sent this in:

Eric, thanks for your call. You asked that I send the information regarding the “Essay of Life” by Napoleon Hill so you could help me find the complete essay. As I recall some of the words, it started with, “Life you can’t subdue me because I have laughter in my soul!” and ended with, “because, ultimately, nothing matters!”

Last week, J.S. asked us this (perhaps you have an answer):

I work in real estate, and lately I have just not been motivated to make my calls. I have done seminars in the past, which work for a while, but then after a few weeks I am back to being unmotivated.

J.S., after receiving many very helpful messages from our readers we have this response for you:

We found that the consensus is that J.S. should get some form of coaching. Perhaps through the company he works for, or from an outside source. (Yes we do offer coaching programs, or we can refer you to local people in your area.)

One strong point that was suggested is that perhaps if J.S became more aware that every “no” brings you closer to a “yes” that calling would become easier and fun.

Remember that Babe Ruth struck out at bat more than anyone else in the history of baseball. (There is a helpful story about this in Chicken Soup for the Soul.)

The bottom line is that by realizing that you have to hear “no” in order to hear “yes”, you can immediately become more excited about making calls.

Here is one suggestion regarding the issue of why the motivation from within can often be temporary:

Most of our daily behaviors are controlled by our unconscious mind, while coaching generally target the conscious mind. Hypnotherapy is an effective way to create lasting changes to our unconscious behaviors. If anyone would like further information regarding hypnotherapy please contact:

Wayne Morrison (Author of “Tips for the Top” and currently working toward his certification in Hypnotherapy) Mr. Morrison can be contacted at the following numbers (800) 634-9766 and (714) 261-6400.

Tad James has an extensive resource page on this topic which is located at http://www.hypnosis.com

________________________________________
THIS WEEK’S QUOTE CONTEST!
________________________________________
(Now everyone can win!)

Who said this? – We post a quote which you attempt to credit. Please also include a quick statement telling us what the quote means to you.
________________________________________
THIS WEEK’S QUOTE:

“Whether you think you can or not, you are right”
________________________________________

LAST WEEK’S WINNERS: (Please send us what you would like!)

Calhoun, Michael Angier

This quote is by George Bernard Shaw:

“People are always blaming circumstances for what they are. I don’t believe in circumstances. The people who get on in this world are the people who get up and look for the circumstances they want, and if they can’t find them, they make them.”

________________________________________
One of our readers said:
This quote takes on the “rise above your situation” stance. You must not be a helpless bystander in this game of life – you must take an active approach and decide what you want your life to be. You can achieve everything you want once you have decided what you want and take ACTION on it. We are who we make ourselves.

________________________________________

This publication is sent out, for free, on a weekly basis. Please honour our copyright. While this publication is sent out for free, it is not intended for ‘public domain’. You may post it to any BBS’s, newsgroups or forums provided you post it unchanged including any and all advertisements. If you have any questions, please contact the editor. You may also, (and are encouraged) to manually forward it (unchanged) to people who you feel may have an interest in, or benefit from, receiving this journal.

(C) Copyright 1995-2009, Eric Edmeades

Written by e2blogger

July 6, 2009 at 9:03 pm

Leave a Reply

