SEJ Archives

An Internet Original — The Success Express Journals (Archives)

SEJ – Volume 3, Issue 6

leave a comment »

SUCCESS EXPRESS JOURNAL

Volume 3, Issue 6 – November 1995

TABLE OF CONTENTS:

1)    FEEDBACK (Please send us your thoughts)
2)    LOL in the morning
3)    Tips from the Top – Carpe Dium
4)    This Week’s Review – The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success – Deepak Chopra
5)    This Week’s Topic (ENTHUSIASM) – with Eric Edmeades
6)    The Cybergym Exercise of the Week
7)    “Quote of the Month Contest” Winners announced!
8)    REMOVE/SUBSCRIBE information
9)     Copyright Information

READER FEEDBACK

Each week we receive a number of messages from our subscribers. As you can imagine, this can amount to a heavy amount of reading. We commit to you that every message to “Reader Feedback” is read. Many are replied to, and some will even be printed and replied to here in this section of the journal. So, if you have thoughts to share with us, be it constructive criticism or worthy praise, please send it in to Reader Feedback, at sej@hypnosis.com.

Subscriber:
“ I am a 25 year old and I have been taking active interest in self-improvement literature ever since I entered my college at the age of 15. But results have been slow. The mistake I commit all the time is trying to improve one & for all. Recently I was introduced to the ‘concept of creating small daily changes in life in the book ‘Success with a Positive Mental Attitude’ by Napoleon Hill & W. Clement Stone. In that book these two great personalities inspire us to practice CANI as practiced by Benjamin Franklin. They explain how Frank Bettger employed the same technique in his own way and became a master salesman. I was instantly attracted by a similar piece of advice found in your Success Express website.”

SEJ:
“ We are glad to hear that the concept of CANI is spreading all over the world. I believe we can credit Japan as the first country to implement this strategy on a national level. This would, of course, also mean that we must credit Mr. Demmings work in Japan as he had likely had the most profound affect on the development of Constant Improvement as a “success tool”
(CANI is a term coined by Anthony Robbins – It means: Constant And Never-ending Improvement)

Subscriber:
“ Having already read a large number of books for self-improvement (sadly, I haven’t met any person who has managed to read even 10% of what I have and so I always feel quite ‘lonely’ in my efforts to improve myself; hope your journal will make me more confident and help me feel ‘secure’ in my quest for self-improvement)…”

SEJ:
“ I am sure that the SUCCESS EXPRESS JOURNAL is going to help you in your quest, and show you that the world is full of Success and Improvement minded people. ( We now distribute SEJ in 9 countries!)

LOL, in the morning

This weeks Humour Topic: MORE ENGLISH BLUNDERS…

When traveling abroad one may notice from time to time that translations from the native language to English may not have been entirely smooth, for instance a store in Europe posted two signs professing their ability to speak English which read as follows: “English well talking” and “Here speeching American”

In honor of the store who posted these signs, we will – for at least 10 weeks – include three examples of similar translation errors that have been spotted around the world.

In an advertisement by a Hong Kong dentist:
“Teeth extracted by the latest Methodists.”

In a Rome laundry:
“Ladies, leave your clothes here and spend the afternoon having a good time.”

In a Czechoslovakian tourist agency:
“Take one of our horse-driven city tours – we guarantee no miscarriages.”

If you have something worth a good laugh, please send it to sej@hypnosis.com with the subject header LOL.

FEATURE: TIPS FROM THE TOP!

Last week, I spoke of Marcus Bach, author of “The World of Serendipity”. I told you that I would share this week the most important lesson I have learned from him so far. Well, I will follow through this lesson, but first, let me tell you a bit about Marcus.

When I met him, I was amazed at the amount of knowledge and experience he had. He has authored a total of 29 books, and is considered to be one of the worlds foremost experts on the religions of the world. He ha studied and lived with many of the great spiritual leaders of our time, from Marahashi Madesh Yogi, to the Pope, to Tibetan Monks, to Voodoo Witch Doctors. Marcus has seen it all. In fact, I have often told people that if the 10 commandments are still around, they’re probably in his basement!

As we were going through the various artifacts in his study one day, he stumbled upon an ancient book with some sort of symbol on the front. I say ancient, because it was so old it was not even made from paper as we know it – almost a cloth type texture, very brittle, and very worn, like the kind of document you would see in Indiana Jones movie. He explained that he had received the book from a Emperor in China (I forgot the name). the Emperor who was very old at the time, had met Marcus when he was 22 years old. Marcus explained that he gave it to him because he was going to be passing on soon, and wanted to pass on the power of knowledge contained in the book. As he said, Marcus looked at me, tapped his finger on the cover of the book and with a wink of his eye said “You’re going to have fun with this one.”

I’m sure you can imagine the amount of curiosity I had for what was about to come in my teachings with Marcus. Could there be special powers in the book? After reading it would I have those powers? My mind raced with different thoughts as to what was in the writings, as I’m sure yours’ is right now. In fact, I was so pre-occupied by what he meant by “YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE FUN WITH THIS ONE” that I had difficulty even paying attention to what he was saying afterward. My desire for wanting to read the book immediately reminded me of one of my favourite movies – Dead Poet’s Society with Robin Williams. If you haven’t seen the movie, I recommend renting it, you’ll love it.

The movie was about a group of young men learning to go to their dreams, and being willing to express their individuality without fear of what others might think. Their inspirations came from their English Literature teacher – Keating (Robin Williams) There was one particular scene in the  movie where Keating had all of the boys in his class stand around the school trophy cage and look into the faces of the old students’ pictures who had won the trophies. As they did this, Keating asked them what the photographed students all had in common. His answer was: Worm food. He said “Right now, as you gaze into faces of the old students, those students are no longer around, they have died and gone on. Can you see their passion? Can you see their youth? Because what looks frozen in time by a photo is only temporary, and just like the students in these photos, you too will some day be food for worms.” At the time, he started whispering in an almost ghostly like voice the lesson he wanted his students to learn for the day. “Carpe Diem! Carpe Diem!” (Pronounced car-pay dee-um) which translated means Seize the Day! His lesson for the young minds was to take action in life, because if you don’t, life will soon pass you by. It was at that moment, that the students realized they had make the most of each day. Carpe Diem!

Think about the profoundness of this one statement. How would your life improve if you were to seize each moment of the day for all of its’ magnificence? This journal is about assisting you in achieving greater level of happiness. The fastest way I know to achieve failure/sadness is to take the path of avoidance. Are there places in your life where you have been putting things off? Are there things that you know you should do, but for some reason, you can always find one more thing to do that keeps you from doing it. I have never heard anyone say at the end of their life “You know, I wish I would have spent more time at the office.” This weeks’ tip is to seize the day! Make today the “one of these days” that you talk about doing all those tasks on. For some of you, it may be that stack of papers getting higher and higher on your desk, for some of you it maybe taking that someone special out to a romantic dinner, and for some of you, it may even be cutting those ties from people in your life that no longer serve you. Whatever it is, Carpe Diem!

By the way. Just in case you are saying, “Good advice Wayne, I’ll definitely do that tomorrow!” please re-read this article once more. Or…, you could keep reading, and learn the importance of this lesson another way. For you see, when Marcus had tempted me with learning the powers contained within the writings, I wanted to do it immediately, but it was getting late, and I had to get going. So Marcus and I rescheduled to a date later that week. Of course, I got busy later that week, so we postponed it to the end of the month. Then at the end of the month, I had to go out of town for a speaking engagement, and when I returned I was behind schedule with my other accounts. Finally, I had some free time, so I called Marcus to catch up on current events only to find that he had died.

It was at that moment that I truly realized the importance of Carpe Diem, and I  learned the most important lesson from Marcus yet. I say “yet” because I am still learning from him to this day, but my schooling is in the form of his books spirit. And as I write this to you I can feel him with me today. It’s almost as if he is leaning over my shoulder whispering the word “Carpe Diem!” Who knows what he’ll teach me tomorrow!

It’s been said that there are two pains in life – The pain of discipline, and the pain of regret. The pain of discipline weighs ounces where the pain of regret weighs tons. I can assure you, avoiding the things you know you need to do will only increase your pain of regret. So please, take action today on that one thing you are avoiding to do. Get it done, and do it effortlessly! Can you imagine how uplifting it will feel when you look back in the past at all the things you have already completed? With that I will say, Carpe Diem!

Until next week, take care, dare, dream, and make each day an epic adventure!

To Your Success,
Wayne R. Morrison
Pinnacle Achievements 800 481 5106

Tape REVIEW: The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success – Deepak Chopra

Please note: Many of the reviews that are published in this journal, are archived at the Success Express Journal On-line at the URL you will see at the end of this issue.

While we are not aligned or affiliated with any of the authors or speakers that we review here, we are happy to provide information about them, and answer any questions you have.

I believe I mentioned that I was bound for Bahamas for my wedding… well, now I am here. We have had some lovely weather – and great swimming. It was during a workout at the hotel gym on Cable beach that I listened to this tape. Sometimes it is a bit difficult to get “into” tapes by Dr Chopra, but as always, once you are “into” them the message is clear. Each of these “Spiritual” laws have a tremendous impact on life once they are applied, and Dr Chopra makes them easy to apply. His explanations for the reasons for and results of the application of these laws makes very clear sense, and also make for compelling motivation to make them part of your day.

Once interesting aspect to these laws is that they are similar to many other “Success laws” in effect, but not in explanation. For instance, many people ranging from Napoleon Hill to Zig Ziglar to Anthony Robbins teach the concept of Tithing and Contribution. Deepak Chopra teaches the same concept in a way that explains it, on a spiritual level. (What giving is, and why to do it) I now find myself thinking of even more ways to contribute to peoples live than I did before!

Price             $
Spirituality         !!!!!
Relationships    !!!!
Financial        !!!!
Physical        !!!
Fun             !
OVERALL         !!!!

Please send enquiries to sej@hypnosis.com

SEJ’s WORLD – with Eric Edmeades

ENTHUASIASM is a prerequisite for life. It is good for you, and is the only way to create extraordinary results. Charles M Schwab said, “A person can succeed at anything for which they have enthusiasm.” If you are really excited and enthusiastic about something that is taking place the next day, how easy is it to get up in the morning? I know, never-mind getting up in the morning, what about falling asleep the night before?

What would happen if you were to ask yourself the following questions on a regular basis: (WARNING – asking these questions often will make it hard to fall asleep, and easy to wake up – so you may end up sleeping a little less – but probably much more deeply.)
1)    What could I be enthusiastic about right now?
2)    What about this <event> makes me feel enthusiastic?
Take for instance a job interview…as I see it you can either walk through the door afraid or enthusiastic. Which do you think is more likely to earn someone a job? (Or a date for that matter…)

Be enthusiastic about your life, now and always!
Eric Edmeades

The CYBERGYM’s Exercise of the Week:
Carpe Diem: Seize the Day

I found Wayne’s article most inspiring this week and decided that this week’s exercise should involve seizing the day, and the moment. I have many times spoken about Carpe Diem, in fact years ago I had a Matermind Group that was called the Carpe Diem Group. It was during that time that I set many of the goals that I find myself living today. Often I have been asked by people two questions regarding “Carpe Diem”.

1)    If I only live for the moment, what about my future?
2)    How can I begin to live for the moment now?

The answers to both of these questions are important. Seizing the day does not mean forsaking tomorrow. It does not mean putting your future in jeopardy, it means that you must take today and make the best out of it, which may include laying the foundation for your future. For instance if you came into a large sum of money, you could deal with it in several ways. You could invest it all, spend it all, or do a little to both. Seizing the day does not mean not spending it all today, it means doing ‘something’ worthwhile today. How would you feel today if you invested in your future, or the future of your child? So this week, we would like you to join us in seizing each day and each moment, and as Buzz Lightyear of Disney’s Toy Story says, “To Infinity! And Beyond!”

You will need a piece of paper (perhaps a journal) and a pen. The first step is to make a list of at least 2 things you could do each day this week that would really make you feel that you have used that day to the best of your abilities. In other words, what are some things, that if you did them today would make you feel truly happy. Perhaps it would involve planning a great evening with your “significant other” or arranging a nice gift for a close friend. It could be that putting in an extra efficient day at work or school would do the trick. Maybe you would like to go skiing, or fishing, or shopping or dining… only you know what you need to do to… SEIZE THE DAY!

Now that you have made a list – remember how it felt to make the list – and perhaps that will remind you to make lists like this more often.

“ It is in your moments of decision
that your destiny is shaped”
– Anthony Robbins

This is your day, and so is tomorrow…
So make the best of them!

DECEMBER Quote of the Month Contest
(November’s Winner Announced below!)
(Next Draw date: Jan 1, 1996)

There are two parts to this contest, and they are:
A)    Who said this? – We post a quote which you attempt to credit… one winner will receive a copy of Bill Cosby’s ‘FATHERHOOD’

This month’s quote: “You can get anything in life you want… If you’ll just help enough other people get what they want.”

B)    What did you say? – You send us a quote, and if we use it you may receive a copy of Bill Cosby’s ‘FATHERHOOD’

Please send contest submissions to sej@hypnosis.com with the subject header “QUOTES”

November’s Quote: “Do or do not; there is no try” was said by YODA of the Star Wars movies.

November Winners: E. Ray Hales and Lisa Morgan.

Hold on tight – you will both be receiving a copy of Paul Riser’s “COUPLEHOOD”. Please reply to sej@hypnosis.com with your correct mailing address and contact phone number. Congratulations!!!

This publication is sent out, for free, on a weekly basis. Please honour our copyright.  While this publication is sent out for free, it is not intended for ‘public domain’. You may post it to any BBS’s, newsgroups or forums provided you post it unchanged including any and all advertisements. If you have any questions, please contact the editor (editor@ericedmeades.com).  You may also, (and are encouraged) to manually forward it (unchanged) to people who you feel may have an interest in, or benefit from, receiving this journal.

(C) Copyright 1995, Eric Edmeades

Written by e2blogger

November 30, 1995 at 4:21 am

Leave a Reply

