SEJ Archives

An Internet Original — The Success Express Journals (Archives)

SEJ – Volume 3, Issue 5a

leave a comment »

SUCCESS EXPRESS JOURNAL

Volume 3, Issue 5a – November 1995

© Copyright 1995 – The Success Express Press

TABLE OF CONTENTS:

ISSUE 5a
1)    New Feature Updates
2)    FEEDBACK (Please send us your thoughts)
3)    LOL in the morning
4)    Tips from the Top – with Wayne Morrison

ISSUE 5b
5)    This Weeks Review – FATHERHOOD – by Bill Cosby
6)    This Week’s Topic (Curiosity) – with Eric Edmeades
7)    The Cybergym Exercise of the Week
8)    “Quote of the Month Contest” Winners announced!
9)    REMOVE/SUBSCRIBE information
10)     Copyright Information

1)    NEW FEATURE COMING SOON… book/seminar interactive reviews. Shortly we will be discussing “AWAKEN THE GIANT WITHIN” by Tony Robbins. If you have not read this book and have questions, please send them in. if you have read it, or are doing so now, please send in your comments so they can also be included in next week’s issue. Subscribers will then be able to answer your questions and comments in the following issues. Interactive reviews will usually last for 3 – 4 weeks.

Due to E-Mail challenges this feature will be delayed for some time. (We would still like you to send in any thoughts you would like to share…sej@hypnosis.com)

READER FEEDBACK

Each week we receive a number of messages from our subscribers. As you can imagine, this can amount to a heavy amount of reading. We commit to you that every message to “Reader Feedback” is read. Many are replied to, and some will even be printed and replied to here in this section of the journal. So, if you have thoughts to share with us, be it constructive criticism or worthy praise, please send it to Reader Feedback, at sej@hypnosis.com.

This week we have received a message from Nick, in Montreal Canada. He wrote to us questioning the nature of the current LOL feature we are running. (English Blunders) He suggested that “making fun of the errors of others”  is not consistent with what we at SEJ set out to accomplish.

Point taken. Since we now distribute SEJ in 8 countries we are concerned with keeping our readers happy. We have discussed this issue here at SEJ, and also with a number of subscribers. This has lead us to decide to keep running the feature, for now. We have not set out to offend anyone, and hope that we have not. What we have set out to do is two fold; to bring some laughter to the beginning of your week and make everyone aware of how difficult communicating can be in today’s global economy. Also, we would be interested in examples of Blunders that the English speaking people in the world have committed when they have translated to other languages. One reader sent this one in:

A large American soft drink company had a slogan which they attempted to translate for advertising in China. In the end the ad claimed to, “… bring your dead relatives back to life!”

If you have comments on this, or other topics – please send them in to Reader Feedback at sej@hypnosis.com

LOL, in the morning!

This weeks Humour Topic: MORE ENGLISH BLUNDERS…

When traveling abroad one may notice from time to time that translations from the native language to English may not have been entirely smooth, for instance a store in Europe posted two signs professing their ability to speak English which read as follows: “English well talking” and “Here Speeching American”

In honor of the two posted these signs, we will – for at least 10 weeks – include three examples of similar translation errors that have been spotted around the world.

Outside a Hong Kong tailor shop:
“ Ladies may have a fit upstairs.”

In a Bangkok dry cleaner’s:
“ Drop your trousers here for best results.”

Outside a Paris dress shop:
“ Dresses for street walking.”

If you have something worth a good laugh, please send it to sej@hypnosis.com with the subject header LOL.

FEATURE: TIPS FROM THE TOP!

As you probably know by now, my inspirations for these articles are a result of the events in my life. That is exactly what this weeks’ topic is about: Life’s happenings. We have all experienced those times in life where something unexpected happened. And so often they seem to arrive at a very inconvenient time!

There could not be a more appropriate title for this column “Tips from the Top” for this weeks’ topic. For the person I am writing about I hold at the top of the list when it comes to success. The person I would like to introduce to you this week is Marcus Bach.

My introduction to Marcus is as interesting as is Marcus himself. I was meeting with the president of a large printing company in Los Angeles to discuss with him how we could increase the level of sales within his company. After a fairly long presentation with very little participation from the stone faced executive, he looked at me and said, “Have you ever read ‘The World of Serendipity’?” Now if there is one thing I’ve learned in sales, it’s to always be prepared for any question imaginable. I like to think that I am. This however was a question I had not anticipated; furthermore, I hadn’t even heard of the book. After pausing for a brief moment to decide whether or not I should fess up and say no, or try to skate around the question, I responded with the truth. After which he replied: “Read the book, then we’ll talk.”

Naturally, I wanted to get the book as soon as possible, and thankfully, the owner had the author’s number, so I called the number only to find it was disconnected. Thank God for directory assistance. I made the correct call, and an elderly woman answered the phone (Marcus’ wife). After explaining my predicament with the company I wanted to contract with, she said she would mail me a book, and when I received it I could send her the money (my kind of business person). Of course, being the eager business man that I am, asked her if I could just drive out to their house and pick up the book, promising of course, not to take more than a few minutes of their time. She laughed and then agreed.

When I arrived at Marcus’ house, I was not prepared for the direction my life was about to turn. As Marcus invited me in, he looked deeply into my eyes and said, “So you’re here to learn about serendipity.” I’ll say this again for impact: YOU ARE HERE TO LEARN ABOUT SERENDIPITY!

Serendipity: The art of finding value in life’s unexpected events. This is a gift if you choose for yourself, will make life’s joys infinitely more rewarding. Napoleon Hill in his book “Think and Grow Rich” touched on this subject in his own unique way. He said that for every adversity comes the seed of an equivalent or greater benefit. Great words to live by, but hard words to accept when the chips are down. And if there’s one thing I’ve learned in my teachings throughout the years, a technique or philosophy is only as good as its applicability in need. In other words, any idiot can be happy when life’s going good, but what do you do when it turns for the worse?

So how can you use serendipity when life presents an unexpected event? Well, there are many ways, but one simple one is to use the teachings that Eric mentioned in last weeks Journal: Ask Better Questions! Let me give you an example: Think about an event from your past that is no longer an issue for you, but at the time was unplanned, and unwanted. (Also known as a bad day) And now, as you reflect on the past event, and think about your present situation in life, can you consider all the options and choices you have now as a result? Was there ultimately a benefit or favorable outcome because of this? If you maintain an open mind, and search deep enough, I am certain you will say yes. In fact, you have to say yes, because that in life which does not kill us will only make us stronger. And unless these internet connections are stronger than I think, you are alive while you are reading this; therefore, it didn’t kill you, ergo, you must be stronger! Now if you didn’t say yes, and you cannot find benefit from a past negative event. One of two things occurred, you haven’t searched enough yet, or the event is still unresolved in your life. If it is still unresolved, great! That means you get to make a choice right now. That choice is: Do you want to look for all of the negative consequences of this event, or do you want to hold yourself to a higher standard in life, and become a seeker of serendipity! Seek it! Look for the good, it’s there if you are committed to asking the right questions: What’s great about this situation? What could be great? What am I overlooking? What’s the benefit here? What have I learned from this event? What could I learn from this event? How could I make this fun? If ‘one day’ I am going to look back at this and laugh, how can I make today that day? All of these are great questions, and if you take the time to answer them, you may just find yourself having a new outlook on your “problems”. Remember, hidden treasures are found beneath many layers of dirt.

So as my “few minutes” to pick up the book turned into its fifth hour, I had found a new friend, and mentor that would take the quality of my life to a new level. Because it was then that Marcus and I agreed I would begin my weekly “lessons” with him. There he would share with me his insights of life so that I could pass them down for years to come. Our meeting was truly serendipitous, and suddenly, the frustration of not getting the sale became a celebration that I remember each day when I think something isn’t “going my way.”

Where could you use serendipity? Is there an area in your life that you have experienced an unexpected event that is causing you pain? Knowing that good will eventually come from this, what is it in the future that you want to feel now? And when would now be a great time to feel that way?!

By the way, would you like to know what the single most important lesson I have learned from my friend Marcus Bach is? Well, I’m going to share it with you next week. Until then, take care, dare, dream and make each day an epic adventure!

To Your Success,
Wayne R. Morrison
Pinnacle Achievements 800 265 7489

Written by e2blogger

November 30, 1995 at 4:09 am

Leave a Reply

