SEJ Archives

An Internet Original — The Success Express Journals (Archives)

SEJ – Volume 3, Issue 1

leave a comment »

SUCCESS EXPRESS JOURNAL

Volume 3, Issue 1 – November 1995

TABLE OF CONTENTS:

1) LOL in the morning
2) Tips from the Top – with Wayne Morrison
3) This Weeks Review – COUPLEHOOD – Paul Riser
4) This Week’s Topic (Who am I?) – with Eric Edmeades
5) The Cybergym Exercise of the Week
6) This Week’s Mental Workout: Are You Successful?
7) Copyright Information

LOL, in the morning

This week’s Humour Topic: Phones

– The Psychic Hotline’s Answering machine should say:
“Thank you for calling; we know why you called, and we know who you are, so there is no need to leave a message.”

– The Psychiatric Hotline’s answering system:
“Hello, thank-you for your call;
If you are an obsessive compulsive, please press 1 (repeatedly);
If you are a co-dependent, please ask someone to press 2;
If you have multiple personalities, please press 3, 4, 5 and 6;
If you are a paranoid/delusional, we know why you are calling, so please hold on the line (while we trace your call);
If you are a manic depressive, it does not matter what button you push – we probably won’t answer anyway.
Thanks for calling…, again.

If you have something worth a good laugh, please send it to
103041,3717@compuserve.com with the subject header LOL. –

This Week’s REVIEW: Couplehood
By Paul Riser

Well, you may be thinking that this is an odd book to review in a ‘SUCCESS’ journal, and it is. The reason becomes clear after about 4 pages. This incredibly humorous and fun collection of relationship and life stories borders at times on achieving the status of relationship manual. Since for many people success includes their relationships, this book qualifies as a success related publication. The humor is almost solely based on truth and reality which is what makes this book so valuable. It is often through humor that we are able to better see the relationship between things, and therefore put them in a proper prospective. I hope you enjoy this book as much as we did.

All our ratings are based on a maximum rating of 5.
Price ……………………$
Spirituality…………….!!!
Relationships…………!!!!
Financial………………..!
Physical…………………!
Overall……………….!!!!

Please note: Many of the reviews that are published in this journal, are archived at the Success Express Journal On-line at the URL you will see the end of this journal.

This Week’s Topic: Who am I?

I am often asked this question (mostly by my own little voice), “who are you?” I usually respond, “Excuse me?” To which I get, “Who are you that you feel you can help others achieve what they want? Who are you that other people want to hear what you have to say? Who are you to be writing for, and producing this journal?” Well, the answer is this: I am Eric Edmeades, a 25 year old Canadian and student of the science (it is a science) of success achievement. Five years ago I made a small change in my life, and then kept on making small changes. I went on a success fast. What I mean is that I went on a diet of success and achievement material. I read books, attended seminars, listened to tapes, and observed the most successful people. It was at around that time that I started working for a small (1 man) company that re-markets a special type of computer equipment. Well, I have watched (and been a major part of) the building of that company into a thriving business. Five years later, the company does business all over the world, has offices in four countries and over 50 employees. Wow! In fact, I have just been promoted to open our European sales office! I am moving to Ireland in a few months.

I am about one month from one of the happiest days in my life, my marriage. My inspiring wife-to-be, friends and relatives are traveling to Nassau, Bahamas for the big day, December 23rd. We are both very excited and happy.

Physically I am in the best shape of my life, with fantastic eating and exercise habits.

Financially I am beyond anything I would have imagined for myself 5 years ago. (By the way, this way before I learned to imagine properly). I fully expect to be ‘retirable’ by the age of 32. Of course I will continue to work (read — > play).

In short, I have the most incredible job, fiancée, dog, relatives, friends, mentors and memories. And I have learned how to help others to achieve what they want in the process. Not through any get-rich-quick, or instant changes process, just through constant and persistent improvement. This journal is a tool to help us all to remember to ask ourselves, “What small action can I take today to move towards my goals?” I believe if you ask this of yourself enough, you cannot help but get where you want.

“Success in life is a series of steps in the right direction;
make sure you are walking the right way.”

This Week’s Mental Workout: Are You Successful?

First, let me tell you my definition of success: “Success is easily defined by the number of days you are truly happy.” Think about it, people shy away from the word “success” all the time because of the common use of the word when discussing currency. Well, let me ask you this question: Can someone be successful at; singing? Dancing? Child care? Running? Staying healthy? Making money? That’s right, success is a measure of many things. So, success in ‘life’ is defined as the ‘number of days are truly happy.”

It is that simple. So this week’s exercise is equally simple to do now:

In a journal ask the following each morning for the week:

1) what can I do today to be successful at _________ . (Please ask this question with 3 different words.) For instance: My Job; My Relationship; My Health; etc.

And each evening ask these questions:

1) What areas of my life am I currently achieving success? (If you initially have a hard time answering this, please substitute “am” for could.)
2) What about today made it a successful day? (If this is not easily answered, ask: What did I learn today? And What can I do tomorrow that will insure a successful day?)

There you have I, child’s play. If you are reading this sentence now, and it is morning or evening, please do the exercise right away, and commit to yourself that you will do them each day this week (weekends can be a day of … rest).

“It is in your moments of decision that your destiny is shaped” – Anthony Robbins

At the end of this journal, you will find the copyright information, as well as e-mail addresses for submission and questions. You will also find the URL to the SUCCESS EXPRESS JOURNAL ONLINE, which many of you have visited, we will be updating it each month, and we will also be announcing the winners (not yet picked, so send entries in now) to our quote of the month contest:

1) Who said this? – We post a quote which you attempt to credit … one winner will receive a copy of Paul Riser’s ‘Couplehood’

This month’s quote: “Do or do not, there is no try.”

2) What did you say? – You send us a quote, if we use it for the Online Journal, you will also receive a free copy of Paul Riser’s book.

This publication is sent out, for free, on a weekly basis. Please honour our copyright. While this publication is sent out for free, it is not intended for ‘public domain’. You may post it to any BBS’s, newsgroups or forums provided you post it unchanged including any and all advertisements. If you have any questions, please contact the editor (editor@ericedmeades.com). You may also, (and are encouraged) to manually forward it (unchanged) to people who you feel may have an interest in, or benefit from, receiving this journal.

(C) Copyright 1995, Eric Edmeades

Written by e2blogger

November 1, 1995 at 12:59 am

Leave a Reply

